Awareness & Advocacy Advisory Committee

Purpose

The Awareness & Advocacy Advisory Committee provides a forum for the discussion of advocacy, exchange of information, and advancement of advocacy efforts relevant to all types of libraries in the South Central Regional Library Council region.

 

Role

  1. Monitor regional, statewide, and national legislation and advocacy issues affecting or potentially affecting the SCRLC membership.

  2. Examine social justice issues as relating to libraries.

  3. Educate and inform the SCRLC membership on issues of importance to regional libraries and their stakeholders.

  4. Develop and recommend annual advocacy activities.

  5. Measure the effectiveness of advocacy efforts and campaigns.

  6. Serve as advisors to the Board of Trustees and staff on matters of awareness, advocacy, and social justice in the South Central Regional Library Council region.

2018 Activities

  • Update the awareness & advocacy plan.
  • Attend and report back on NYLA's Advocacy Day.
  • Work with regional library systems to hold a legislative event.
  • Develop a Diversity/Equity/Inclusion/Social Justice plan.
  • Update the Awareness & Advocacy and D-E-I Social Justice LibGuides.
  • Support Alfred's LGBT teen mentorship program initiative.

Members

Institution

 Term

 Email

 Nancy Abashian

Binghamton University

2017

abashian@binghamton.edu

 Steve Bachman

Four County Library System

2016

sbachman@4cls.org

 Deborah Gagnon

Wells College

2017

dgagnon@wells.edu

 Sarah Glogowski

Finger Lakes Library System

2016

sglogowski@flls.org

 Brian Hildreth, Chair

Southern Tier Library System

2014

CommunityLibraryPartner@stls.org

 Mechele Romanchock

NYS College of Ceramics @ Alfred

2017

romanchockm@alfred.edu

 Mikki Smith

Corning Museum of Glass

2018

smithdm@cmog.org

 Nicole Waskie-Laura

Broome-Tioga School Library System

2017

nwaskiel@btboces.org

 

 

 

 

 Mary-Carol Lindbloom, ex officio

SCRLC

 

mclindbloom@scrlc.org

 Jessica Philippe, ex officio

SCRLC

 

jphilippe@scrlc.org


 

Meeting Minutes

2018

 

December 10

Minutes

May 10

Minutes

February 1

Minutes

   

2017

 

September 28

Minutes

May 22

Minutes

March 17

Minutes

January 19

Minutes

[close (x) ]
Your Shopping Cart Contents
There are no products in your shopping cart.