Awareness & Advocacy Advisory Committee

Purpose

The Awareness & Advocacy Advisory Committee provides a forum for the discussion of advocacy, exchange of information, and advancement of advocacy efforts relevant to all types of libraries in the South Central Regional Library Council region.

 

Role

  1. Monitor regional, statewide, and national legislation and advocacy issues affecting or potentially affecting the SCRLC membership.
  2. Examine social justice issues as relating to libraries.
  3. Educate and inform the SCRLC membership on issues of importance to regional libraries and their stakeholders.
  4. Develop and recommend annual advocacy activities.
  5. Measure the effectiveness of advocacy efforts and campaigns.
  6. Serve as advisors to the Board of Trustees and staff on matters of awareness, advocacy, and social justice in the South Central Regional Library Council region.

2022-2023 Activities (Draft)

  • Update the awareness & advocacy plan.
  • Collaborate with regional library systems on legislative meetings and events.
  • Participate in and share information on NYLA's Advocacy Day.
  • Review the Awareness & Advocacy LibGuide; suggest updates.
  • Offer additional advocacy training as needed.
  • Design an information campaign to bring people into libraries, including programming on misinformation/disinformation.

 

Members

Institution

 Term

 Email

 Nancy Abashian Binghamton University 2017 abashian@binghamton.edu
 Steve Bachman Four County Library System 2016 sbachman@4cls.org
 Sarah Glogowski Finger Lakes Library System 2016 sglogowski@flls.org
 Brian Hildreth, Chair Southern Tier Library System 2014 CommunityLibraryPartner@stls.org
 Nicole Waskie-Laura Broome-Tioga School Library System 2017 nwaskiel@btboces.org
       
 Danna Harris, ex officio SCRLC   dharris@scrlc.org
 Mary-Carol Lindbloom, ex officio SCRLC   mclindbloom@scrlc.org
 Jessica Philippe, ex officio SCRLC   jphilippe@scrlc.org


 

Meeting Minutes

2020

 
October 14 Minutes
September 28 Minutes
   

2019

 
January 31 Minutes

 

 

2018

 
December 10 Minutes
May 10 Minutes
February 1 Minutes
[close (x) ]
Your Shopping Cart Contents
There are no products in your shopping cart.